My DevCareer x Progate adventure

My DevCareer x Progate adventure

·

2 min read

Hello peeps my name is Gbolahan Balogun, I am among the 100 developers that participated in the DevCareer x Progate program. We were offered free access to courses on Progate, provided with monthly data subscription as well as other lifetime opportunities. As I already had some experience with frontend web development, I chose the Web Development path with Node.js for backend and I was able to learn and build amazing projects based on the vast resource we were provided with. We were given rigorous training and various challenges to solve on a regular basis, these challenges turned out to be stepping stones put on place to improve our software development skills

I learnt a lot about teamwork as I had to work with team mates from different backgrounds, with different levels of experience and perspectives. I got to know what it takes to be a good team player, how to work and get along well with others. Another important thing I learnt during this rewarding program is the skill of meeting deadlines. Through the rigorous training we got, I learnt how to work with time, meet and beat close deadlines. The games session taught me to always think outside the box and never feel inferior to give up on any situation. Another remarkable activity I would like to discuss is the AMA Session whereby top developers in the industry are invited for a question and answer session. I learnt a whole lot and always looked forward to these sessions as we get enlightened through others' strengths and pitfalls.

In general, I got to acquire new skills, improve considerably on my frontend and UI/UX skills, to crown it all I also became a certified Node.js developer. My next step would definitely be getting my hands dirty, keep learning and putting all I've learnt into practice, I also look forward to collaborating with others where necessary, building scalable and maintainable applications and contributing to open source projects.

My immense gratitude goes to Hacksultan, Okoyecb all the sponsors and everyone else that made this reputable program a success. I would always be grateful to you all. Thank you